Orbiter 2010 Space Flight Simulator

I don’t need another computer game in my life.

I really don’t.

I was re-watching the announcement of the new Dragon spacecraft

…when on the list of similar videos, I came across an instructional video by Davis Courtney on a space flight simulator flying Dragon V1 out to the moon.

What?

Apparently this really fun thing has been out for a few years now. I used to fly Microsoft Flight Simulator many years ago (landing is tough! I crashed a lot!) back when computer games were the thing I spent the most time on. I still have it in a pile of diskettes somewhere. These days I haven’t even had time to blog. It’s a challenge just finding a way to squeeze more than five hours of sleep out of each night. I’ve had to dial my writing and convention attendance way back to nearly nill (I did write a 600 word flash fiction on my phone last week during some throwaway time though).

I really, really don’t need another computer game in my life right now. I really don’t. Especially one that I have to sit down at my PC for. Starfleet Commander Extreme or Angry Birds Star Wars or Fruit Ninja are all games that I can play on my Droid 4 phone during throwaway time (no I haven’t tried Flappy Bird…no one has enough throwaway time in their life for that one!).

But this one is SO COOL!

You can fly NASA’s early first missions and spacecraft with Apollo, Gemini, and others.

You can pull the Space Shuttle out of moth-balls and launch it on a joy-ride out  to dock with the ISS.

You can fly futuristic space planes anywhere in the solar system.

You can build your own.

The sky’s the limit (pun intended).

It’s called Orbiter 2010. Google it. Be warned however, it is intended to be as realistic as the old Flight Simulator. You have to learn how to put the craft in orbit and calculate orbital sling-shots to planets and all that. There are great tools and documentation available for to help you, but you still have to spend time learning how to fly. It isn’t dumbed down enough to just plug in your joystick and go.

Plus, it has endless expansion modules and fan supported content.

Yep. A complicated, interactive, real-time, PC based game that appeals to my fantasies and has lots of stuff to learn, eats up lots of time, takes me anywhere, and never ends…

I played it for the first time after midnight last night. I failed several times, but I’m slowly getting better. As I write this I’m re-watching Davis Courtney‘s first “getting started” video with my scary-smart ten-year old son and fellow gaming addict on his first day of summer vacation from school.

Hey, it’s better than him playing Angry Birds all summer right? At the rate at which commercial space is growing, he might get to do it for real some day. Orbiter 2010 is just proactive educational software…right?

That’s my story anyway and I’m sticking to it.

~ by Bill Housley on May 31, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
