Life, the Universe, & Everything 2014

logoLTUE

I had a pleasant surprise this week.
I found out that I’m on five panels at LTUE this year.
Named after the book by Douglas Adams, LTUE is an annual academic symposium held in Provo Utah.  In it, writers help other writers learn the trade, build contacts, and work together to succeed.  This year the guest of honor is Orson Scott Card.  It will be held in the Provo Downtown Marriot on February 13th, 14th, and 15th.  Click here for the schedule (at this writing it is not yet ready for public release…stay tuned.
Any of you who aspire to write Science Fiction, Fantasy, Romance, or any other kind of fiction should join us there if you can.  Take time off work.  Get a babysitter.  Quit your job (not really).  You won’t be sorry.
My panels are listed below.  This is from version 2 of the unreleased schedule and thus is still subject to change.  I’ve included the names and websites of my fellow panelists as best as I can find out.

Orson Scott Card at Life, the Universe, & Ever...

Orson Scott Card at Life, the Universe, & Everything at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

February 13th, 10:00 am–“Write What You Don’t Know”–Bryce Room

C. Michelle Jefferies
Julia H. West
Nathan Shumate – Moderator
Adam Sidwell

I have no idea what this panel talks about.  I guess I’ll find out when I get there…which seems appropriate actually.  😉

February 13th, 3:00 pm–“Apocalypses Throughout History”–Arches Room

Eric Swedin
Aneeka Richins
David Ferro
Johnny Worthen – Moderator
Deren Hansen

300 year droughts, ice ages, super volcanoes, meteor strikes, poison gas rising out of the oceans at night (that generation of dinosaur was boring anyway)…nature has some truly frightening ways of killing off her children.  Speculative Fiction is about saying “What if…”, so, what if one of these happened today?

Closeup of Michael R. Collings at Life, the Un...

Closeup of Michael R. Collings at Life, the Universe, & Everything 2008 at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

February 14th, 9:00 am–“Signing a Contract”–Canyon Room

Brett T.M. Peterson
Jaclyn M. Hawkes – Moderator
Kevin H. Evans
S. M. Anderson

What’s more important, getting the money or controlling the destiny of your work?  You’ll need to draw your line and sign your name somewhere in the balance between those in order to get published.

February 14th, 4:00 pm–“Marketing Yourself as an Author”–Canyon Room

Annie Oswald
Chas Hathaway – Moderator
Shawna Fillmore
Teri Harman

Published authors are each one in a million…literally!  Never has that been more true than now.  So how do you stand out in the crowd?

February 15th, 12:00 pm–“ePublishing Short Stories”–Canyon Room

Me! – Moderator
EA Younker
Elana Johnson
Joe Vasicek
Paul Genesse
Scott William Taylor

ePublishing is the way of the future, that much is plain.  But how to do it?  Where do you submit your material?  I don’t know as much about how to do this as I would like, which is why I asked to moderate this panel.

Some of these people I know and some I don’t.  It’ll be fun.  Will I see you there as well?  I hope so.

Fellow panelists…I made an honest effort this morning to link to all of your websites, but perhaps I tried too hard.  If that’s not your website that I linked to…or if your weblink is here but you’re not who I think you are, please let me know in the comments and I’ll fix it.

Update 2/6/2014–Made some changes as the schedule added and removed some panelists.  I also add the rooms. 

In another addition, though I can’t be there, Tom Carr will present The Pinkertons at the film festival on the 14th at 4:00 pm.  My face will be in two rooms at the same time, once in the Amphitheater on the screen and in person in the Canyon Room at the “Marketing Yourself as an Author” panel.  Of course, you *could* download and print pictures of me off of my Facebook page and pass them around the symposium so that I could be many other places at once–but I never suggested it, no not at all.  😉

The first issue of Tomorrow Speculative Fictio...

The first issue of Tomorrow Speculative Fiction (January 1993) had a cover illustration by Alex Schomburg (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enhanced by Zemanta

~ by Bill Housley on January 18, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
