I’ll Do It: A Short Tribute to Neil Armstrong

Neil Armstrong in an Gemini G-2C training suit...

Neil Armstrong is a bold name, made large by the man who bore it.  Whatever chance of circumstance put his boot print and famous quote first on the moon, it was not what made him a hero.  He showed us all how a man can bear fame with dignity.

Yes, I will work hard in pursuit of my dreams as his family suggests, and I’ll wink at the moon at my next opportunity.  I’m sure his spirit returned there to visit soon after it freed itself from the flesh.

It is my hope that this country and world are building more of him to follow in his footsteps, both on Earth and beyond.

~ by Bill Housley on August 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
