Syndrome Will Save the Day!

Syndrome's Rocket Plane?

Does this look familiar?  I saw the coverage of the U.S. Military‘s Falcon Hypersonic Technology Vehicle 2 (HTV-2) that failed (partly) on its test flight , but I didn’t make the connection until I saw the image on the left with the fairing splitting open.

It’s the Syndrome Rocket Plane!  You know, the one on the Disney/Pixar animated movie, The Incredibles!  No really!  Compare it to the next image.  Pixar animators didn’t use the lifting body design so much (it has to have wings to be an airplane right?), but it’s launched vertically as a multistage rocket, splits open, and ends up as a very fast robotic aircraft.

Stolen screenshot from The Incredibles

My question is…which came first, the cool Disney rocket plane or the top secret government DOD research project?

Or is the U.S. Military buying technology from Mr. Incredible‘s arch nemesis?

Syndrome (Disney promotional image)

Syndrome

Makes one rub one’s chin and say hmmmmm.

 

~ by Bill Housley on August 30, 2011.

2 Responses to “Syndrome Will Save the Day!”

  1. First of all I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question
    which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Cheers!

    • I don’t clear my thoughts when I write…I express them. I do this both in my fiction writing and in my blog. If something is bugging me, and I think that you or I or someone else can benefit from me expressing my thoughts, I put it here. If my mind dreams up a cool story to tell, or an interesting dialog exchange, I write it in a fiction work. While it’s on my mind I write, if it leaves I go and do something else…not very disciplined, I know, but that’s how my brain works.

Leave a Reply

 
