Inspiration Road

Ok, you have all seen the bumper sticker that says, “If man is too busy to go fishing, man’s too busy.”

Well I would like to suggest a variant to it, “If a man is too busy to notice that a close friend has engaged in a momentous coast to coast bicycle trek to raise money for Shriner’s Hospitals, even though the man and his friend’s wives have gotten together and arranged for the friend and his family to stay overnight at the man’s house on the way through, man’s too busy.”

Ok, so that won’t fit on a bumper sticker, I’ll check later and see if it’ll fit on a Tweet.

Yesterday my wife asked me, “Dear, you’re working on Saturday, right?”

“Yes,” I said.

“Will you have time to start a fire for me on Saturday evening, for a fireside in the park?”

“Sure.”

Then I start thinking about bringing the portable fire pit to the park. Then I start thinking about what it is all for.

“Why?” I asked.

You see, I already knew that Willard and his family were coming through town, and spending the night with us. I’ve actually known that for a month. No problem, just get some mattresses out of storage for them.

“I thought it would be nice to hold a speaking engagement for Laura and Willard while they’re here,” my wife said.

My brain slowly starts to catch on…

“Why?” I ask through the haze.

“To talk about, you know, the Constitution, the support Shriner’s has given them, their family, and their bicycle trek.”

“Bicycle trek?”

“Yes. Oh and can you make me a flyer for it please?”

“Huh?”

Yes, I can be a little bit slow on the uptake sometimes. I told her to write down all of the relevant information on a sheet of paper. She called Laura, Laura talked to her and me and during it all it finally clicked.

On May 26th my friend, Willard White from Porterville, Utah, and a teenage friend of his named Skyler Zeschke, stood on a beach in Oregon and dipped the tires of their bicycles into the waters of the Pacific Ocean. Then they set out across the country with a goal to do the same in the Atlantic at Coney Island, New York, raising money and giving a motivational speaking tour along the way.

They will spend the night at my house in Evanston Wyoming on June 19th. Yesterday I arranged for a mini amphitheater along the Bear River Greenway for them to speak at, a newspaper article, and a radio spot on Friday morning.

Better late than never, Bill.

You can read about their adventures along their trek on Willard’s blog http://inspirationroad.blogspot.com

Good luck and safe travels, Willard. See you when you get here.

~ by Bill Housley on June 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
