Shocking Truth Revealed

Caution! Gruesome videos follow!

I grew up being taught that the praying mantis is a beneficial insect because it eats grasshoppers and other plant-eating pests. Little did I know that mantids actually will eat anything they can catch and subdue. I mean a praying mantis is a messy eater anyway, but to witness one chowing down on a warm-blooded creature is somewhat disconcerting.
For me, this learning experience started a couple of days ago. I happened to make a comment to one of my college-age daughters about the mantid’s enthusiastic eating technique and she pulled out her laptop and said, “Let’s watch!” She did a search and one of the images showed a photo of a praying mantis, dangling upside down from a hummingbird feeder with a dead humming bird in it’s clutches.


Of course, you know what came next…that’s right…YouTube!

Further searching showed that it’s not just humming birds either (the things routinely stake out feeders to ambush them) but also snakes, lizards, even mice…basically, if they can catch it they’ll eat it.


So if you ever see a praying mantis that, through some freaky malfunction of nature, happens to be nearly human size, take my advice—run for your life!

I should mention that in the course of gathering material for this article, I also found a very disturbing video of a pelican at a zoo or park or something eating a pigeon—but that’s another story.

~ by Bill Housley on February 23, 2010.

5 Responses to “Shocking Truth Revealed”

  1. Haha, after reading a few of these, Ryan said you’d make a good tabloid writer 😛

    • Hmmm…not sure how I should take that…but I am fiction writer, so I guess that works.

      BTW, I saw a golden eagle fly over the other day and so I thought I’d go through some YouTube videos of their food choices.

      Multiple choice question: What do golden eagles eat? A> Goats, B> Deer, C> Wolves and Foxes, D> All of the above.

      Answer: D

  2. that was AWESOME and I know what I’m doing for science with the kids today!!! Mantis’ are our FAV insect and I even bought 2 egg sacks to hatch in my garen this year!

    BTW! when u first set up your blog I was a subsrciber but I dont know what happened! I had to re-subscribe. I’ve spent the last day catching up on all your posts though!

    • You’re not alone on the mantis thing. This blog post gets far more hits most days than any other post here, through people doing web searches on the praying mantis.

  3. this is probably the best thing i’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

 
