Catch Up With Curiosity

JPL’s NASA’s Solar System Simulator has added the Mars Science Laboratory to its list of trackable spacecraft.  Using this tool you can see Mars and Earth from the rover’s perspective as it speeds toward its date with the red planet on Sunday.

To go there, click here:

http://space.jpl.nasa.gov/

Of course, it’s only a simulation.  When it lands for real it’ll take 7 minutes and we woun’t know if it landed or crashed for 14 minutes.  That’s how long it takes light…and radio transmissions…to get here from Mars.

The show begins on Sunday at 8:30 pm PDT.

~ by Bill Housley on August 1, 2012.

One Response to “Catch Up With Curiosity”

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for newbie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.