Want a Lift To The Moon?

The Moon as seen by an observer from Earth. So...

Image via Wikipedia

I saw a Tweet for a Cassini update on spaceref.com and thought I’d see if there was any cool new images or Earth (Saturn?) shaking science that I could comprehend.  After spending several minutes reading through it, and understanding about half of it, I decided that there wasn’t anything in there that I could comment on intelligently.  Sure, it was cool!  Make no mistake!  But it’s was all very routine and if I noted any of it here in my blog then I’d have to do so every routine week and…well…I just don’t want to do that.

So I was about to put it all away and hit the sack when I found this banner ad at the bottom…

Now being the gaming junkie that I am I suddenly became less tired, late is it was, thinking that this was an ad for a video game.

I clicked on it.

It’s not a video game, or any other manner of fiction.

It’s real.

The page reads: “Welcome To Spaceflight Services, your provider of routine access to space.  Rideshare missions to GTO and LLO.”  In short, they intend to launch a mission by 2014 to carry payloads into Low Lunar Orbit, with other drop offs along the way in Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit

I knew that there were companies planning on selling space to Low Earth Orbit, but I hadn’t heard of any plans for a private moon shot, let alone seen any ad space for it.

I looked and I couldn’t find a price list, but it does say, “low cost”.

I just think it’s cool.

~ by Bill Housley on March 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

