Another Breathtaking Image from Hubble

 
The Hubble Space Telescope (HST) begins its se...
Image via Wikipedia

Cameras on board space probes of various stripes have recently produced some marvelous new images, so much so that I lately found myself at a loss for which one to put on the desktop backgrounds of the various computers that I use.  Over the past year or so I have displayed a great Hubble shot of Saturn on the desktop of my computer at home, switching it occasionally with any one of several nebula or galaxy shots for both that desktop and the one on my old Samsung i760 phone.  BTW, my 6 year old son confided in me a few days ago, saying that Saturn is his favorite planet.  I guess the apple really doesn’t fall far from the tree.  :-)

Well, times change and so do desktop images.  Here are several that have graced my display within only the past month or so.

There is this great Cassini shot of the south pole of Saturn’s moon Enceladus, complete with geysers backlit by the sun.  It currently decorates my computer desktop, and is featured in an earlier post here.  I pronounce the name of this moon the same as the Mexican food dish.  Should I?  If not please comment.

Next, we have yet another great infrared shot of the Orion Nebula.  This time with the Spitzer Space Telescope.  This elegant image (yes, go ahead, scroll down…now say “oooooo!…aahhhh!”) found its way onto the background of my brand new HTC Touch Pro 2 Phone almost immediately after the phone arrived in the mail and I discovered how great this pic looked on the phone’s display.  It only lived there for a short while though.  You’ll see why soon, read on.

Saturn’s moon Mimas, closer than you’ve ever seen it before, taken by Cassini.  Stare at it below for a moment or two, does it seem to you like it’s moving or are my eyes just tired? 

Incidentally, a wonderful painting of this moon will appear on…oops, I’m not supposed to talk about that yet.  Check back a couple of months from now. 

But my favorite photo here is  Messier 66, by the Hubble Space Telescope.  When I saw this one, it won out over the above Orion shot on my phone background, and even pushed that same image out of consideration for the new header pic for this site.  When my novel comes out I’ll probably use a mosaic of images related to that on the blog header, but Messier 66 will hold that spot until then.

If you ever wish to discover images like this for yourself, make sure you hit the “Science” tab on your favorite network news website regularly.  Also, Hubblesite.org, NASA.gov, Solstation.com/stars and Space.com.

 

     

~ by Bill Housley on April 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

